LOWER CAPE MAY REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT
BUS DRIVER’S AGREEMENT

2014 - 2017
Duration of this Agreement shall be July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2017.

This agreement covers working conditions for all full-time drivers, part-time drivers, and
driver substitutes.

Full-time drivers salary schedule:

FULL TIME DRIVERS:

Step 2014-2017
1 $ 19,483
2 $20,262
3 $21,073
4 $21,916
5 $22,792
6 $23,248
7 $23,713
8 $24,187
9 $ 24,671
10 $ 25,165
11 $ 25,515
12 $ 25,865
13 $ 26,215
14 $ 26,565
15 $26,915

+$350 Longevity — steps 11 through 15

Duties under base salary:

To and from routes for High School
Vocational routes and/or Teitelman routes
Late activity routes for both schools

Late athletic run for both schools

Field trips during school hours in the county
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V. Part-time drivers and substitute drivers salary:

Part Time ©2014-2015 2015-2016 | 2015-2016 | 2016-2017 | 2016-2017
Contracted ‘Annual Base | Annual Base | Daily Rate | Annual Base _ Daily Rate -
Drivers (+2.50%) | (+2.50%) (+2.40%)
Wildwood Catholic/ $21,617 $120.10 | $22,158 $123.10 $ 22,689 $126.05
Cape Trinity
la.m./1p.m. S 14,466 S 80.37 $ 14,827 $82.37 $15,183 $84.35
Routes _
2a.m./2 p.m, $21,617 $120.10 $ 22,158 $123.10 $ 22,689 $126.05
Routes
Alternative $21,617 $120.10 $22,158 $123.10 $22,689 $126.05
School
Part Time Vo-Tech $21,617 $120.10 | $22,158 $123.10 $ 22,689 $126.05
a.m./ p.m.
Gloucester County Inst. S 66.63 $68.30 $69.94
of Tech. per Run* ) |
Attendant/Per Run $21.38 $21.91 $22.44 |

*Bus runs to Gloucester County Institute of Technology (GCIT) will be compensated per run (i.e.
a morning and afternoon run will be paid $133.26 for the2014-2015 school year). The driver will
not be compensated if they do not transport the student(s) to or from GCIT.

Note:

If any major change occurs with the routes above, a change in the dollar figures will occur.

V. HOURS

Full-time drivers drive approximately 8 hours per day.

Part-time drivers drive approximately 3 hours per day and are not entitled to fringe

benefits.

Vi. FRINGE BENEFITS (full-time drivers — and those drivers who work 20 hours per week

ONLY).

1. Sick Leave — ten days accumulative sick leave days per school year.

2. Health Benefits — The Board will provide coverage as set forth in the New Jersey
School Employees Health Benefits Program (NJSEHBP) for NJ Direct15 and Aetna

HMO, which includes the prescription benefit, or its equivalent, for the entire

family in compliance with state statute Ch.78, P.L. 2011 and the negotiated
contract. The Board shall provide a description of conditions and limits of
coverage as listed above.




In the event that the Board provides insurance through a carrier other than the
State Health Benefits Program, the Board guarantees that the coverage
provided will be identical to the New Jersey School Employees Health Benefits
Program with the sole exception that a clause mandating a required second
opinion for surgery may be included. In the event that a second opinion for
surgery is mandated, the covered participant or dependant will be held
harmless for any financial obligations resulting from the obtaining of said
second opinion. Charges related to the mandatory second opinion will be the
responsibility of the insurance carrier or the Board.

Fringe Bank - $1,000 FOR DURATION OF Contract. All full time employees will
pay $50.00 per year as a service fee to administer the Health Reimbursement

Account (Fringe Bank).

The employee’s Health Reimbursement Account Plan (Fringe Bank} is to be used
for out-of-pocket medical expenses such as physician/hospital co-pays,
deductibles, and coinsurance, dental expenses (including preventive dental
coverage for dependent children under 14 years of age, which is mandated by
the Affordable Care Act) , and vision expenses. All first year full and part-time
personnel are not entitled to Fringe Bank payments.

Any medical expense not reimbursed during any given year may be applied to
the following year if the total aggregate amount does not exceed the sum of
those two (2) years. Medical receipts may not be utilized beyond two (2) school
year periods.

Any unused funds from a given school year may only be carried over one (1)
school year.

The unused balances of the prescription payment plan cannot be used as a
reimbursement in the Medical Fringe Bank clause.

Original receipts and a signed voucher for the amount requested shall be
submitted to the Secretary of the Board of Education or his/her designate by
November 30" and/or May 30". Payment dates shall be on or before
December 30", and on or before June 30",

All first year full and part-time benefits personnel are not entitled to fringe bank
payments.

Drivers who retire from the District and qualify for pension in accordance with
the provisions of the Public Employees’ Retirement System shall be reimbursed
for unused sick leave at the rate of 30% of his/her per diem (calculated at
1/200™ of annual salary at the time of retirement) rate provided that least
eighteen (18) years of service have been completed in the Lower Cape May
Regional School District. Driver’s who have over ten (10) years of service as of
June 30, 2014 shall be reimbursed for unused sick leave at the rate of 30% of
his/her per diem (calculated at 1/200" of annual salary at the time of
retirement) rate provided that least ten (10) years of service have been
completed in the Lower Cape May Regional School District.
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Drivers who qualify for a pension in accordance with the provisions of the Public
Employees’ Retirement System who retire in the district who were hired after
May 21, 2010 shall only be eligible for a maximum payout of $15,000 based on
$50/day providing the staff member has completed 25 years of service in the
District.

Payment shall be made within one year from the date on which the driver
informs the district of his/her intention to retire. For the purpose of this
agreement drivers will be credited with one year of service time for every two
years of part-time employment as a driver in this district

COMPENSATION FOR EXTRA RUNS AND FIELD TRIPS AFTER SCHOOL HOURS:

Distance of Trip Amount
Within 30 miles $45
31 —40 miles $50
41— 60 miles $57
61—75 miles $62
76+ miles $70
Other Trips

Additional runs for district $25
Vo-Tech activity run $35
Saturday, Sunday, & Holiday Trips $40
Summer School

One School $85
Two Schools $105

For trips over 8 hours the driver will be compensated at an additional $14.00 per hour.
Drivers who transport multiple sports will be compensated an addition $14.00 for the

run.

Drivers who work more than 180 days in a school year will be compensated at the
prevailing daily rate for the run(s) made on the extra work day when public school was
not in session. Compensation will only be made after 180 public school work days have

been completed.

DRIVERS AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

1. To complete and submit inspection reports as required, daily, weekly, monthly
and yearly. These inspections are to be done before and after each run. Failure
to do so will result in disciplinary action.

2. To keep an accurate report of mileage; daily, monthly, and yearly.



3. To clean bus daily; windows and windshield to be kept clean at all times. In the
event of bad weather, the driver is responsible for the removal of snow, ice,
debris, etc. off of their bus. Twice a year, seats to be pulled and bus cleaned top
to bottom in preparation for state inspection. At the completion of preparation
for semi-annual inspection, drivers may submit a repair order for inspection of
bus seats.

4, Each driver will attend four (4) Transportation Department meetings per year,
which will be held during normal business hours without compensation. Drivers
will be required to attend one (1) state mandated, driver’s defensive course in-
service training per year. Drivers who attend the full 8 hours of the state
mandated in-service training will be compensated at a rate of $75.00. The
supervisor will try to schedule the any other training courses during normal
business hours, but if it is held outside normal business hours there will be no
compensation. In the event of a State of Emergency, drivers may be required to
attend meetings outside normal business hours without compensation. Failure
to attend any of these above meetings will result in disciplinary action.

5. To present a neat and clean appearance at all times.
6. To give prompt and efficient service at all times.
7. Drivers who miss mandatory meetings, where at least one week’s notice is

given, will be docked one personal day. If a personal day is not available,
one day’s pay will be deducted.

8. A maximum of two (2) drivers will be approved for time off the week before or
the week following Thanksgiving Break, Winter Recess, and Spring Break.
Drivers may use this option once every three years. In the event that more than
(2) drivers request this time off a lottery will be utilized to determine who will
be granted this leave. All requests for such leave shall be made at the start of
the school year.

PERSONAL LEAVE:

As of July 1, 1996, all present full-time with benefits personnel — 3 personal days. Any
new full-time with benefits personnel and all other personnel — first year of service 1
personal day, second year of service and every year thereafter, 2 personal days.
Personal leave days are to be utilized only for personal business or legal or family
matters that cannot be conducted outside the normal work day.

Personal leave shall not be used for recreation entertainment, other employment, or for
matters which can be scheduled outside of school hours. At the end of the work year,
for both full and part-time drivers, unused personal days will be converted to sick days.
For full-time drivers these days will be added to the allotment. For part-time drivers,
these converted days will be added from year to year to be used for sick day purposes
only. Application to the immediate supervisor for personal leave shall be made at least
two days before taking such leave. In the event of an emergency which precludes the
provision of two days written notice, said notice shall be provided at the earliest

possible time.



Approval of personal days is subject to review of the Superintendent, and the needs of
the District.

The Superintendent’s decision will be binding and non-grievable.

Bereavement Leave:

Bereavement leave in the event of the death of an employee’s family member defined
as step father, step mother, step son, step daughter, grandparents, grandchildren and
in-laws shall constitute an excused absence of up to 3 days per occurrence.
Bereavement leave in the event of death of an employee’s father, mother, sister or
brother, shall constitute up to 5 days excused leave per occurrence. Bereavement leave
in the event of death of an employee’s spouse or children, natural or adopted, shall
constitute up to 10 days excused leave per occurrence.
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